top of page
Search
  • jui2016685

Why the 'Harry Potter' series is my favourite. Always.

This July, our favourite fictional character, Harry Potter, just turned forty, along with much loved author, Joanne Kathleen Rowling, popularly known as Queen Jo or just J.K. Rowling. The Harry Potter series is one of those series which never go out of fashion. In fact, I wouldn't be surprised if people will continue reading and loving this series centuries from now.


It's a timeless classic, like Shakespeare and Charles Dickens's stories. For me, the entire Harry Potter Universe, including dear Hoggy Warty Hogwarts and our favourite home, The Burrow, are real. Even though I know magic doesn't exist (unfortunately), I find myself in the Harry Potter world. I can relate to the characters. I have laughed with Harry, cried with him, studied with him (I actually enjoyed studying, for a change ;)) and gone on magical adventures with him.


Even after so many years, Harry Potter is still a part of my life. To be honest, over twenty-five percent of my vocabulary consists of Harry Potter-related words, such as 'muggle' and phraseology like 'Merlin's beard'. Sometimes when I'm feeling lazy and don't want to get up to turn on my lights on or off, I <i> actually </i> say 'Lumos' or 'Nox' before I remember that I'm not a witch *sigh*.


Harry Potter has taught me many wonderful life lessons (not only the very useful advice Mad Eye gave us- "Never keep your wand in the back-pocket of your pants"), like 'there are causes worth dying for, but none worth killing for' and that one has to focus on one's choices, rather than one's abilities.


Besides. all the characters in the series are REAL and relatable. They all have their good qualities and flaws, which makes them actual people. Harry sometimes acts rather stupidly, Hermione can be a meanie hypocrite, and Ron can be very thick. All these things don't bring down the characters, they make them alive.


These are some of the many magical reasons Harry Potter is my favourite book series, and will ALWAYS be.




104 views7 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page